Segment 1

How old does the student have to be in order to enroll in a Segment One course?

Students must be at least 14 years and 8 months old by the first day of class in order to attend. No exceptions may be made with this rule since it is regulated by the Michigan Dept. of State.

What is Segment One?

Segment One includes 24 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. This is the first step for teens who wish to obtain a driver’s license before they turn 18 years old. Both Segment One and Segment Two classes are required by the State of Michigan in order to receive a driver’s license before a person turns 18 years old.

How long does it take to obtain a driver’s license?

The entire process may take anywhere from 7 months or longer depending on when the student receives their Graduated Level One License and how quickly the student and the family wish to progress. Guidelines and time restrictions may be found on the Secretary of State website.

Do you accommodate learning or physically disabled students?

1 Premium Driving School, Inc. strives to meet the needs of all students regardless of learning and physical levels, however, there are certain limits to what we are able to do. For further information, please contact the main office at (313) 862-4244.

What forms of payment do you accept?

We accept cash, money order, Visa, and Mastercard. If you need to make other payment arrangements, feel free to call our office to make arrangements.

When should I pay? Is there a deposit required?

All services must be paid in full at the time of registration. If you are unable to do so, a deposit can be placed on the account to hold your registration. Arrangements can be made by calling us at (313) 862-4244.

Do you have any payment plans available?

Our payment plan is as follows:

  • Half payment of the entire class must be done by the first day of class. If a half payment has not been received, your student’s drive times will be delayed for scheduling.
  •  The remaining balance must be submitted to our office by the last day of class.
  • A fee of $10 is added to any account that is not paid in full by the first day of class.
  • No personal checks will be accepted unless approved by the owner.
  • If the other half of your balance is not paid by the end of class, we will withhold the Segment One Completion Certificate until payment has been made. Drive times can be postponed due to non-payment as well.

 

What is the cancellation/refund policy for the Segment 1 course?

As stated in our contract: If for any reason you decide to withdraw from the course before its completion, your refund will be based on the following:

  1. A full refund will be given if student withdraws prior to class beginning.
  2. 50% refund will be issued if student withdraws prior to any Behind-The-Wheel instruction.
  3. Once the Behind-The-Wheel instruction begins no refund will be issued.

Refunds will be processed in full if a class/service is canceled by 1PDS,Inc.. Refunds take 2-3 weeks to process and will be in the form of a check (if paid by check, cash, or money order) or by credit (if paid by credit card). No refund will be issued if the student is expelled due to disciplinary reasons.

How many students do you allow in one class?

The State laws prohibit us from having more than 36 students attending one class, therefore we must limit our enrollment to 36 students – no exceptions may be made.

What do I need to bring to the first day of class?

Segment One students need to make sure to have the following:

  • Photocopy of their birth certificate (a Xeroxed copy is fine – 1Premium Driving School, Inc. is required by the State of Michigan to keep this on file).
  • The Segment One contract
  • Payment for at least half of the amount of the class (if you haven’t already done so).

What if, I do not have an original birth certificate?

State documents verifying your age are also appropriate. Examples: passport, state identification card, etc.

Do parents need to attend the first day of class?

It is not necessary for parents to be there on the first day of class with their students as long as the students bring the required paperwork and payment, if needed. We do hold an informational parent meeting. For details, please talk with the classroom instructor.

What is covered in the cost for Segment One?

The price for Segment One includes classroom and drive times.

How do the students sign up for driving times? When do the students drive?

Students will be signing up for drive times during the first three days of class. These drive times are in addition to the scheduled classroom times. Segment One is 24 hours of class time, and 6 hours of driving time. 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. wishes to accommodate families and busy schedules by offering a wide variety of drive times, including before and after class and on weekends. 1PDS, Inc. does not assign drive times, we allow the students to schedule their own drive times according to when they are able to drive. Please keep proper documentation of these so you can arrive on time. If changes needed to be made, please contact the classroom instructor.

NOTE: Parents and Guardians! Please make sure that you let your children know what days and times work for you before the first class ­ they must be able to accurately sign up for driving times that fit your schedule as well as theirs. As mentioned before, the students will have the first three days of class to make any changes necessary to their driving schedules, based on any scheduling problems that you foresee.

How many drive times do the students need?

Segment one requires a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with a licensed instructor. Students will need to sign up for six separate sessions that will run for two hours per session. During these two hour sessions, there is one other student in the vehicle along with your student and the instructor (we DO NOT allow more than two students per session). The two students will drive for one hour each during the session. When a student is not driving, they will be using this time to observe and learn by filling out a worksheet in the back seat while the other student drives. (Only 4 hours of observation are required for teens)

What happens if a student misses a class?

1 Premium Driving School, Inc. does allow a student to make up two missed classes. If your student misses more than two days of class, they MUST complete the classroom portion of Segment 1 over again. You will not be asked to re-pay. Please speak with the classroom instructor on the first day of class if you believe that your student may be missing a class during their Segment One session, and the classroom instructor will explain to you and the student on how the days missed will be made up. Classes can be made up after the original class has ended. There are no exceptions to this rule.

What if there is a snow day?

If your school district has announced a snow day, 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. (which include driving times) will be cancelled as well. If the students driving instructor decides that the road conditions aren’t good enough to drive in later that day, they may be calling you to try and re schedule your original drive times for that day. Please make sure all contact information has been updated with your instructors if you have changes.

What kind of cars do you use?

Primarily American-made, new model midsize sedans with 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. logo on each side of the car. Each has right-side brake pedals, giving instructors complete control. Each is cleaned and sanitized regularly and comes with a hand sanitizer and first-aid kit. All undergo constant, detailed inspections.

I am over 18 years old. Can I still take Segment One?

Yes, of course you can! However it is crucial that you first obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit from your local Secretary of State Branch Office. This document will allow you to participate in the driving portion of this class. Your permit will cost $25 and requires that you pass a written exam. You must bring a photocopy of your valid TIP to your first day of class, along with your completed Michigan Adult Segment. If you wish to postpone obtaining your TIP, you will only be allowed to complete the classroom portion of Segment 1.

The green certificate that my student received after Segment One, what does that mean? Is that their Graduated Level One License?

NO! This is the Michigan Graduated Segment One Certificate of Completion – this is NOT a permit and does not allow your son or daughter to drive with an adult or guardian. This document simply verifies that your student has successfully completed the Segment One program through our school and may now apply for their Graduated Level One License through the Secretary of State (a.k.a driving permit). They are only qualified to drive once they have gone to the Secretary of State, and have been issued their permit. Student and parent must be present to obtain this permit.

What do we bring with us to the Secretary of State when we go to get my son/daughter’s permit?

Please click on this link to view the Secretary of State Identification requirements: http://www.mich.gov/documents/sos/Applying_for_lic_or_ID_SOS_428_222146_7.pdf

Who is my student allowed to drive with when they receive their Graduated Level One License (a.k.a. permit)?

Is my son/daughter allowed to drive out of the State of Michigan with their Graduated Level One License?

Yes, however they must be accompanied by an adult with a valid driver’s license. The adult must also be at least 21 years old.

We never went down to the Secretary of State, and received the Graduated Level One License; can’t we just show the Segment One completion certificate in order to take Segment Two?

Unfortunately no, you must go to the Secretary of State, and received your Graduated Level One Learners License at least 3 consecutive months before starting Segment Two. If not, your son/daughter will not be allowed to take Segment Two until they have done so. The other requirement before taking Segment Two is that your son/daughter has completed at least 30 hours of behind the wheel instruction (remember that two of the hours of training must be at night). Please remember that it is very important you go to the Secretary of State immediately after receiving the Segment One completion certificate, so you can get your son/daughters Graduated Level One License as soon as possible. Not doing so, could delay your son/daughter in getting their license on time.

What about the Graduated Level One License (a.k.a. permit)? Does that expire as well?

There is an expiration date on the Graduated Level One – it should be the student’s 18th birthday. This is the day that the permit expires and you have until that date to take a road test.

Help! I’ve lost my Segment One certificate! What can I do?

1 Premium Driving School, Inc. may reissue the certificate to you if you have lost either the Segment One or Segment Two certificate as long as you took the respective Segment from 1PDS, Inc.. We cannot reissue certificates for you, if you attended another driver education school. Certificate (reissue) fee cost $30. It takes 2 business days to reissue a certificate, so please be sure to allow enough time if you need this by a specific day. When contacting the office, be sure to have your full name, date of birth and Segment location as well as the date that you completed the specific segment.

Photocopies of certificates are not kept on file, and are not accepted at the Secretary of State’s office or road testing agencies. We do not fax copies to other driver education schools for road testing purposes, either. Please contact the office for more information.

I received my Segment One completion certificate but my name is spelled wrong/the birthdate is wrong.

No problem. Please call our office at: (313) 862-4244 and we can reissue a new one to you. Certificates are mailed to your home address. Please allow up to 7 business days for the new certificate to arrive.

What are the requirements for obtaining an original Driver’s License or personal identification card?

Please click on this link to view the Secretary of State Identification requirements: http://www.mich.gov/documents/sos/Applying_for_lic_or_ID_SOS_428_222146_7.pdf

What is the 1 Premium Driving School Inc. Discipline Policy?

Any student violating the rules and regulations as contained in this policy will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action and possible expulsion from the class. No refunds are granted due to disciplinary action that prevents a student from completing an 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. course.

Prohibited acts include, but are not limited to:

  • Teasing, insulting, name calling, mean or rude gestures toward peers, instructors or employees, spreading rumors or behavior that would hurt other’s feelings, swearing, taunting, ridiculing, humiliating, threatening, pushing, shoving, grabbing, spitting , sexual, ethnic, or harassment, stealing or extortion, fighting, kicking, punching, gang related gestures, assault, cheating, forgery, using cell phones during instruction, destruction of property belonging to 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. or the facility in which classes are being held.
  • 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. will expel any students in violation of State Laws and/or Local Ordinances which include, but are not limited to:
    Abuse of fire alarms, safety equipment, bomb threats, lighting of fires or burning or attempting to burn any property belonging to the 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. or the facility in which classes are being held or property belonging to persons employed by 1 Premium Driving School, Inc. or attending the course, or the employees of the facility in which classes are being held. Possession, use of, or threatening to use dangerous weapons such as, but not limited to: fire arms, knives, iron bar, or brass knuckles. Possession, use or threatening the use of any weapon or dangerous object capable of inflicting bodily harm including but not limited to: chains, knives, fireworks, explosives, smoke bombs, and toy weapons resembling any of the above.